We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

Consortium Vol​.​1 - V​/​A

by Motech



‘Consortium Vol 1’ on Motech Records brings 2019 to a triumphant close, stylishly wrapping up what has been a great year for this grand Detroit label. 2019 saw the label drop as many as 10 releases throughout the calendar year, remaining one of a few labels that consistently continue to fly the flag of authenticity in techno. Always the greater emphasis is quality and originality of music above less tangible variables such as artist social following, statuses and current creative trends.

With ‘Consortium Vol 1’ Motech founder and owner Franki Juncaj aka DJ 3000, (an individual very much part of the fabric of Detroit techno’s story), brings together for this final release of the year, nine hand selected artists. Some are Motech regulars such as French artist P- Ben, who drops a sub-rumbling banger with ‘House of Work’ and Austrian duo Petit Beurre, who replicate their slick signature filtered chords and string sound (that made their three releases on Motech this year so popular) with the track ‘Phil’.

We welcome a second appearance on the label from Rotterdam’s exciting new breed, Najel Monteiro who dropped one of the highlight EP’s of 2019 with ‘Acceptance is Silence’. Here he gives us the thumping ‘Mirror Man’. And there are exciting Motech debuts from Turkey based, Yasha. His track ‘With You’ is one of those Classic Chicago-influenced Detroit tracks that will wipe away winter blues. London (UK) based Nicolson makes a great debut with the dreamy ‘Synthetic Soul’ and likewise Michael Mereborg’s minimal trip ‘Whack’ leaves you instantly wanting more from this artist. Jeran Portis’ piano stabby track ‘Alcala’ is a pure groover. ARTF announce their Motech arrival with melodic track, ‘Ancient Teachings’ - a more tribal, organic approach, while Madrid’s Chaval Records frontman, Victor Santana delivers ‘Comfort Day’, in all its driving techno joy.

This nine-track journey through Detroit techno leaves us with serious anticipation for what 2020 may hold for Motech, a label that literally refuses to be outnumbered.

Track Listing
1. Victor Santana – ‘Comfort Days’
2. Najel Monteiro – ‘Mirror Match’
3. P-Ben – ‘House Of Work’
4. Yasha – ‘With You’
5. Nicolson – ‘Synthetic Soul’
6. Michael Mereborg – ‘Whack’
7. Jeran Portis – ‘Alcala’
8. ARTF – ‘Ancient Teachings’
9. Petit Beurre – ‘Phil’


released December 13, 2019


all rights reserved



Motech Detroit, Michigan

We Speak Your Language.

Motech was started by DJ 3000 and has been putting out heat since 2002.

Check back often, we're always adding new releases, back catalog, and limited run merch.
... more

contact / help

Contact Motech

Streaming and
Download help

Shipping and returns

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like Motech, you may also like: